Temple Health & Bioscience District

Fostering Temple,TX Health Science Community

Big things are happening in Texas, where companies benefit from highly skilled talent, top tier R&D, and lower operating costs. At the heart of this industry is Temple, Texas, one the fastest-growing cities in the state due to the prevalence of medical companies, hospitals, and industry influence.


Temple Health & Bioscience District (THBD) works tirelessly to promote the health science community in Temple, TX.

Public comments are welcomed, if you wish to address the Board, please contact Shannon Wetherbee 254-314-8465 or send us an email.

Female scientist in lab looking through microscope
To invest in and promote a diverse, growing Health Science community in Temple, TX.
To foster a thriving Health Science community.
Board Election

Your Opinion Matters

THBD is Texas Legislation that addresses and supports the City’s economic growth. The public nonprofit is supported by the city taxpayers.

Internet Posting Requirements for Political Subdivisions

Each of the following documents must be completed by individuals wishing to run for election

our board

Governed by Elected Members

Temple’s Health and Bioscience Economic Development District is governed by a seven-member board. The board members are elected by the citizens of Temple and serve staggered three-year terms

THBD Board Member Thomas Baird

Thomas Baird

Chairman of the Board
Baird, Crews, Shiller & Whitaker, P.C.

THBD Board Member Michael Norman

Michael Norman

Vice Chairman of the Board
CEO and Founder

THBD Board Member Tyler Johnson

Tyler Johnson

Executive Vice President
Alliance Bank Central Texas

THBD Board Member Gregg Strasburger

Gregg Strasburger

President of Ancillary Businesses
Strasburger Enterprises

THBD Board Member Dr. Robert Cortes, Jr.

Dr. Robert Cortes, Jr.

Co-Founder & CEO
Advanced LifeCycle Management

THBD Board Member John Kiella

John Kiella

Kiella Real Estate Group

THBD Board Member Jason Lockin

Jason Locklin, Ph.D.

Department Chair & Professor of Biology, Temple College
Temple College Biological Research Institute